Goodbye Erasmus – Auf Wiedersehen Vienna

It’s hard to believe or even realise that one of my biggest adventure is now over… After spending almost 5 months in Vienna, my exchange period came finally to an end and it was time to return to Finland. Have to say, it feels so unreal and bizarre to be back… Luckily my summer internship in Helsinki has helped a lot to adapt the change and keeping myself busy. I also really enjoyed writing this blog and it worked nicely as a diary. This is going to be my last post to this site, but lets see if I become inspired to start a new one someday in the future.

Of course, before all of us started heading to their home countries we had to organize the one last meeting together. What could be better place to hang out than by Donau? I was so pleased that all our friends could make it and we had such a lovely evening together. Even though it first felt almost like a normal evening just hanging out together, later on we didn’t escape from tears. But it was just a proof, you have enjoyed something so much that you feel great feelings when it’s over. At the same time, I think I didn’t quite realise that next time we see each other might take some time…

Some days afterwards it came also my time to move out. It was kind of unreal feeling to start packing your 4,5 moths life together and also glean the empty room. Still, for me it worked as a closure. On Friday evening my plane left from Vienna. I had really mixed feeling and leaving was anything but easy. Also, my luggage was almost 3 kg too heavy, but I think I looked so miserable with my reddish and swollen eyes, that the airport clerk let it pass without any additional fees.

Vienna is also shedding tears

For the first time of my life, I felt that after returning, part of me didn’t feel like coming home. Don’t get me wrong, I was more than happy to see my family and friends again, but leaving Austria back gave me really mixed feelings. I felt a bit empty. It was also strange to see how immutable everything was at home and how greatly you can attach to new place in a relative short time period. I believe, instead of one I have now two homes. One in Finland and the other in Austria.

IMG_5075 2

The whole Erasmus was surely one of the most amazing period in my life, that I’m going to look back many times in the future. I’m sure that I don’t quite yet realize how much actually happened during these months. What Erasmus actually then gave me? It cave me an opportunity to experience different cultures much deeper than before by meeting people from many different countries all over the world. I also counted that I visited in total 9 different countries and 28 cities! Even though I have traveled a lot already in my years, I felt that after my exchange period my eyes opened even more. While talking with people, listening their stories and opinions about life, and sometimes even visiting their country really widened my perspective of experiencing life. After all, we are quite much bound to our subjective feelings and also to stereotypes. I believe these walls started to crumble.

Now that I look back my whole exchange I realize how privilege I was to meet the funniest, loveliest and enthusiastic group of people. I’m feeling so thankful and really lucky to met them since the beginning of my stay! In fact, most of them I met in the very first day and we stayed friends until the end. Crazy! We had such an adventurous, amazing and unforgettable adventures together, and I think I’m able to count the days, that I just spend alone with fingers of two hands! I couldn’t wish for any better friends, and you guys were the ones that made this Erasmus to be as unforgettable as it was! I’m going to miss you so much, but I’m sure that these are not goodbyes. Auf Wiedersehen – Until we meet again. Before that you will always have a special place in my heart.

IMG_5077

“Travel isn’t always pretty. It isn’t always comfortable. Sometimes it hurts, it even breaks your heart. But that’s okay. The journey changes you – it should change you. It leaves marks on your memory, on your consciousness, on your heart, and on your body. You take something with you… Hopefully, you leave something good behind.”  

Alle Gute in der Zukunft!
Terhi

FIN.

 

Leave a Reply

