Charming historical Salzburg

Before leaving Austria, visiting Salzburg was still in my bucket list, so I decided to travel  there this week by myself. For many people Salzburg brings either Mozart or Sound of the Music movie first to mind, but Salzburg’s Altstadt is also famous globally for its baroque architecture and is the fourth largest city in Austria. At the same time old city centre is one of the best-preserved city centres north of the Alps. In 1997 it was listed also as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

I left Vienna very early in the morning and hopped on a train to get there. During the train trip it was nice to notice once again how landscape started to change and mountains appeared to horizon. During my staying in Salzburg I mainly just walked around in the new and old parts of the city and enjoyed the atmosphere. I really liked Salzburg’s old city centre with all its small streets, alleyways and restaurants. Really calm day trip so to say.

Getreidegasse in the heart of Salzburg old city centre. It’s also one of the oldest streets in the city and lively shopping street.

After a nice dinner I decided to visit Salzburg fortress (Hohensalzburg), which is one of Europe’s biggest, oldest and imposing fortress from Middle-age. This time I bought even the entrance ticket and visited inside of the castle. Cable car was also included to the same price, so I got a change to rest my feet a little.

Views from Festung Hohensalzburg castle

After castle visit I strolled still a little in old centre and popped in to one cafe to taste traditional dessert called Salzburger Nockerl. It took some time to find a place where they deserved this only for one person, because normally portions are made for two people and there is lot to eat. However, it was worth of searching for, because dessert was really delicious!

A culinary speciality Salzburger Nockerl is a sweet soufflé served as a dessert, but is also suitable as a main course. “Süß wie die Liebe und zart wie ein Kuss
Palace Mirabell which is also known for Sound of the Music’s “Do Re Mi” scene

Before leaving I spent a little time chilling by the Salzach river and palace Mirabell’s garden area. For me Salzburg was a really charming small city and juts a perfect destination for a day trip.

Leave a Reply

