I do believe it’s time for another adventure

Only two weeks left in my beloved home country Finland and then I’m about to start one of the biggest adventure of my life. This adventure takes place in Vienna, Austria, where I’m going to spend 4 and half months as an exchange student.

I’m almost a 23 years old biology student who has been always passionate about traveling and experiencing new cultures. Nothing beats that feeling when you get a chance to travel a whole new places around the world.

Right now it feels like being on a rollercoaster. Depending on the day and time I’m super exited and in the next turn a little anxious. Starting an exchange period seems to be like starting university all over again. Meeting a whole punch of new interesting people all over the world and getting to know a new city, that I have never visited. So, some reasons to be exited about!

Anyhow, I love living in Jyväskylä and I’m grateful that I have amazing friends back home! Still after 3,5 years it’s refreshing to pack my whole life in a single (or two…) suitcase, hop on an airplane and take a flight to Austria. However, I’m so glad that my dad joins me for the first three days in Vienna and helps starting everything up.

Even though the adventure hasn’t exactly even started, I had to step out of my comfort zone and face all the arrangement that going abroad requires. I’m so glad that I didn’t have to encounter a huge paperwork with visa and now only insurance is a work on progress!

The biggest problem that gave me grey hairs (that I already have thx very much) was an apartment. First I thought I would end up living by Danube under the bridge, but luckily, I found a nice looking room from shared flat. So next months I’ll be sharing an apartment with 12 other students. But at least I have my own toilet and shower! The room is also quite small (only 11 m²), but location is perfect for me, because Ecology department is near. I also managed to pick up some really interesting courses. Especially field courses in Austrian nature I’m really looking forward to. Most of all,  I challenged myself to choose one course that is held in German. Time to put those German skills in practice!

For the next two weeks my intents are to meet as many of my friends as possible before leaving and spend time with family. My plan is to post here once a week, what I’ve been up to and write about my experiences abroad. Welcome to join my company via this blog!

Stay tuned!

My favourite thing to do is to go where I’ve never been. 
– Diane Arbus
Leave a Reply

